More recently, my thoughts have been more like "Why waste money on a bad film?" I watch a pirated movie, then I watch it in theatres or buy the DVD if it's good. The problem is, I know it's wrong, but I kept doing it, I'd do it, but then I'd actually pay for the movies that I want to watch, like Toy Story 3, or Harry Potter, or any of the Lord of the Rings movies, so I assumed it was okay. I realize now though, that bad movies are half the fun of the draw. You can't expect every movie to be a hit, nor every album, but that's the fun of buying. It's like gambling; You spend money on something, and you can either bust, or you can get rewarded in movie/music gold. I personally have begun to stop pirating, but sometimes I do it, like when I had to get the last episode of Avatar: The Last Airbender because my DVR didn't record it from Nicktoons for me. It's still stealing, I think, but it's about like going to Walmart and watching the movies they have playing on their TVs. You didn't pay for that movie, but you're still watching it. Besides Avatar, I have not downloaded anything in months, though my family keeps insisting that I do. Piracy has outside influences as well as from within it seems, but I ignore them and keep on with life.
I care for only one pirate, and that is the rum guzzling, sword slashing pirates we have in our old tales of the seas. Internet Piracy is not piracy, it is stealing, plain and simple, and I use it as nigh as possible.
No comments:
Post a Comment